A loan of $375 helped to pay the costs of his child's degree paperwork.

Luis Alberto's story

Luis is 45 years old, and lives in the city of Ica, in the district of Santiago with his two children, who he loves and who are his reason for living. He is a very friendly, hard-working and enthusiastic individual, who devotes all his efforts to moving forwards with his family, since he has always been both the father and mother of his children.

Unfortunately, due to a lack of money and because of the need, he had to work from a young age. Luis was unable to study the degree course in Business Management he wanted to. In his free time he enjoys watching films and cooking delicious Chicharrones (pork crackling) to share with his family.

On his own initiative, with much effort and determination, Luis works as a watchman on an agricultural estate in his city. Luis works for around 10 hours every day providing security services, and he enjoys his job and believes that it is going well thanks to his hard work and the kind manner in which he treats others.

Luis is very grateful to Kiva lenders, because thanks to the support provided by them he will be able to help his second child to pay the costs of paperwork to obtain his professional qualification. In this way, Luis will be able to achieve his big dream of seeing his children become successful professionals.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Chloe Pilpel

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details