A loan of $950 helped to purchase chairs, tables and ingredients to prepare her meals.

Alicia's story

Alicia, 51 years old, is married to Evaristo and she has 5 children with whom she lives in her own house. The activity that Alicia carries out is the sale of food and it is the reason that she works all day. During the mornings she sells various light breakfast items like juices, breads, tea or fried eggs. Upon nearing the lunch hour she has different dishes like stews, soups and roast meats. In the evenings she offers for sale salchipapas (fried sausage and potatoes), salchipollos (fried sausage, potato and chicken), fish and other regional foods. She has implemented her premises with some tables and chairs where she serves her customers. She has worked in this business for more than five years and she does it with the help of her husband who supports it in the customer service and the preparation of the meals. She complements her concoctions with fresh drinks made with tropical fruit or with soda.

She likes her business as it generates for her the economic income that she needs in order to cover the household expenses and support her partner with it. She says that she has plans for expanding her work space to put in more tables and chairs and thus cater to a larger number of customers. On this occasion she requests 2,500 PEN, and so she is grateful to all of the people who make possible her access to the loan that she needs to fulfill her work objectives.

With the amount requested she will buy tables, chairs and ingredients for the preparation of her meals like potatoes, condiments, rice, oil, meats, chicken and vegetables.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Melanie Snellings

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details