A loan of $400 helped to buy caramels, gum, bread, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, milk, eggs, and other products.


Karol's story

Karol is 25 years old and married. She has two small children and provides them all of the love and care that they need. Karol and her family live at her parents’ house. She works hard so that she can provide her children a good education. Her job consists of selling snack foods such as cookies, candy, sponge cakes, caramels, and cupcakes that she prepares with her own hands. She also sells food, mainly breakfast items such as bread with cheese, oatmeal, corn porridge, and other different products. Her business was previously located in the garage of her parents’ house, but now she opens the doors of her shop promptly at 8:00 A.M. Karol has been doing this work for one year and says that everything is going well. Her mother always works with her and helps with attending to the customers while she prepares the sweets by herself. She is happy to see her customers enjoy with great pleasure everything that she sells. Whenever they ask for more, she knows that she is doing a good job.


Karol hopes to stock her business with a larger quantity of snacks, such as pastries and chocolates, so that she can provide a wider diversity of products to her customers. She is taking this opportunity to request 1,000 PEN. For this reason, she is grateful that this financing will help her accomplish her goals. The amount she requested will be used to buy caramels, gum, bread, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, milk, eggs, and other products that she continually uses in her work.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ronan Reodica


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details