A loan of $1,500 helped to acquire materials for his business.


Pedro's story

Pedro is 42 years old. He is the second of five brothers and was born in the town of Dr. Arroyo in the south of the state of Nuevo León, México. When he was 11 years old, his parents, who were farmers, emigrated to the city of Monterrey in search of better life opportunities that would allow them to provide for their large family.

With his parents' effort, Pedro finished high school; he wasn't able to continue his education because he needed to work and help his parents with household costs. When he was 15 years old, he started as a welder's helper in a welding shop. He remained in that job for five years, a period during which he learned the welding profession. It was then that he decided to set up a small welding shop to do jobs on request for his neighbors and the people in the area. A while later, he had to hire a helper to keep up with the demand of the requested work.

Pedro currently relies on the work of three helpers whom he uses to complete various projects required by builders, but he lacks the necessary materials to finish those projects. So he is requesting a loan with the hope that it will be granted so that he can acquire those materials and make good use of them.

Pedro lives with his wife, his two children, and his mom, who was widowed several years ago. His greatest commitment is to continue helping his family and his employees.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Holly Torpey


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details