A loan of $1,050 helped buy fertilizer, manure, and other supplies to help her grow coffee.

Nolvia's story

Nolvia is a 29-year-old young woman who is enterprising and hardworking. Together with her husband, they work solely by growing coffee. She has 4 children who are in different grades in elementary school. Their oldest is 7 years old and is in 2nd grade and their next oldest is 6 and is 1st grade. Their 3rd child is their 5-year-old daughter, who doesn't go to school. Their youngest child is in kindergarden. They all are dependent on her and her spouse.

Nolvia hasn't had any schooling at all, which is why she works hard every day with her husband so the same doesn't happen to their children and they can get an education.

She has been a farmer her whole life and learned from her parents (her family has worked in farming for a long time). Together with her husband, who is in charge of maintaining their coffee crop, they walk daily from their house to their fields, which are located 3 kilometers from their house.

Nolvia is asking for help to buy fertilizer, manure, and other goods to help maintain her coffee crop, since through this income she will be able to ensure her harvest and get the maximum yield out of it. Her goals are to be able to expand her crop so as to have more income for her home and family. Her dream is to be able to put her kids through school so they can have a better quality of life, a better education, and progress every day.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Patrick Bales

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details