A loan of $1,175 helped to pay workers to complete the construction of her home.


Olivia's story

Olivia is 32 years old and married to Santos, who is the father of her son Samir and of the little one who's on the way. This family lives together in their house, which is under construction and will be finished soon.

Olivia says that she has supported her parents by working in the fields since she was 15 years old. In this way she learned how exhausting and gratifying the harvest is. Together with her spouse, they began to produce different varieties of potatoes, beans, and peas. She says that growing these tubers is very tiring, so they hire labourers whom they pay by the day for their work.

At the same time, she takes care of her small grocery store, which she opened in the house where she lives. For now she prefers to look after her business because she is 8 months pregnant. Afterward she will get back into working in the fields because she misses taking her few sheep to graze while she tends her crops.

Her objectives are clear. To increase her production to save more and to stock her grocery store with more merchandise. This is her second loan with Kiva and she gives her word that she will be punctual with her monthly payments. When she gets this financial support, Olivia will use the 3000 soles to pay workers to finish the construction of her home.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Aesclinn Donohue


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details