A loan of $475 helped to buy ingredients such as rice, olives, and eggs, among other items.

María's story

Maria, who is 53 years old, is married to Hector, with whom she has only one son, but she has five children from her first husband. She lives in her own house along with four of her children, who are already reaching adulthood and share with her the desire to have a better quality of life. Maria's work is selling food and beverages. She has a portable stand located in the fishing port of the city, where people in search of food frequently pass by. She has had this business for more than three years, and she runs it with the help of her husband.

She comments that what she likes about her business are the earnings that she receives every day, since with her food she always has the income necessary to help her husband with the household expenses. What she doesn't like is that sometimes the customers aren't respectful when they are intoxicated, since unfortunately there are many bars where they sell a lot of liquor in the zone where she works. Nevertheless, she has learned to handle this type of situation, and she always manages to come out victorious. She hopes to get a place where she can sell with greater comfort and where she would mainly have the security that she now lacks.

At this time she is applying for 1200 PEN. She is happy to know that she has the financial support to continue with her plans. She promises to be punctual with her payments, as with past loans. She will invest the amount she has applied for in the purchase of ingredients and supplies that she uses in the preparation of her food, such as rice, olives, eggs, condiments, vinegar, oil, and other items. In addition, she will buy more carbonated beverages of different brands, flavors, and sizes.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Pam McMurry

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details