Funded

Total loan: $400
Powered by 15 lenders

Monica

Peru
PUCALLPA, Peru / Retail

A loan of $400 helped to buy hairpins, bracelets, decorations, and other products.


Monica's story

Monica, who is 22 years old, is married to Nilo, and together they have two little daughters, with whom they live in their own house. Monica's work is selling personal accessories. She began her work with the acquisition of various articles such as musical compact discs, hairpins, batteries, handkerchiefs, decorations, menthols, and other items. With everything she obtained, she went through the streets of the city, offering her products and hoping to sell a considerable quantity that would allow her to have good earnings. Her work is on foot, and she does it with the help of her husband. She has been doing this for about four years.

What she likes about her work is that she can go through the streets of the city together with her husband, working and strolling at the same time. She knows new people, and she strikes up new relationships that later become regular customers. She is very happy because thanks to this work she has improved the family economy. She hopes to soon have a regular sales stall in some market or in her house, so that she can sell a greater quantity and variety of articles. At this time she is applying for 1000 PEN, and she feels grateful for the opportunity to have financial support, which allows her to advance with her business. With the loan that she has applied for, she will buy items for women such as hairpins, bracelets, decorations, and other items so that she can continue working.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Pam McMurry


Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: March 15, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: March 15, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma