Funded

Total loan: $1,000
Powered by 27 lenders

Reina Concepción


A loan of $1,000 helped to buy three young bulls to raise and to pay rent on the land that she cultivates.


Reina Concepción's story

Reina is 27 years old and a single mother of two children. She separated from her husband because he mistreated her children, a 9-year-old boy and a 3-year-old girl. She makes a living selling fruits and vegetables walking from house to house with a basket. In addition, she carries out agricultural work. She cultivates 7,000 square meters of corn together with her brother. Also, she raises animals in her house, an activity that she learned from her parents.

Since 8 years old, she went out to sell tamales and traditional food. Her life has been very difficult since she was young, but she continues forward working for a better future for her children. She gets up at 4:00 a.m. to get her children ready and to take them to her mother's house so she can care for them while she goes to work.

The loan she is requesting from Fundacion Campo is to buy three young bulls to raise and to pay the rent on the land that she cultivates. With the investment, she will be able to have animals that she can sell when they are fat and fetch a good price, and she will have secured the land so she can continue cultivating. Her goal is for her children to study in the university since she did not have that opportunity, and to construct a protective wall around her house and to change the roof since it is very dilapidated.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Carrie N.



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: March 18, 2013

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: March 18, 2013