A loan of $600 helped to buy pants, shirts, blouses, and other clothing.


Milagros's story

Milagros, 42, is a single mother of four children, ages 23, 21, 19, and 15. They still live with her in her own house, which she bought with the fruit of her effort.

Milagros's job is selling clothing. She does her job in different streets of the city, selling to friends, neighbors, and family members. She also works on foot in the different markets in the city. She brings clothes from another city, where she herself goes to select the best-quality clothing in the best designs.

She has been working this way for four years. She does it alone because when she separated from her husband she had to find a way to earn the income she needed to pay her children's education expenses. During this time she has learned to recognized the tastes and preferences of her customers, which is why she always has the exact style or model for them.

She likes her job because she has time for other activities. She knows she has to work very hard to get things and thanks to her perseverance and dedication she can generate an income in her home.

This is her fifth loan with Kiva and she's grateful to those people who are giving her the loan she needs to increase her working capital. She also promises to make her payments punctually.

With the requested amount of 1500 soles [PEN] she'll buy a large quantity of clothing to continue selling to her customers: shirts, polo shirts, blouses, pants, and skirts.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Catharine Wall


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details