A loan of $200 helped to buy bicycle parts.

Pilar's story

Pilar, who is 38 years old, is a hardworking and determined woman. She is married to Miguel, the father of their 5 children. She lives with all her family in their own home.

The activity that Pilar carries out is renting bicycles. She has 3 units operating and working. She also has a motorbike taxi, which she rents to her neighbour. She receives a daily payment for this. She has an area in her house to keep the bicycles. The area has been made suitable for this purpose and it Is also where the bicycles are serviced. Her partner does this job.

She started this business over 6 years ago with one bicycle. Seeing the demand for the service, she decided to invest by acquiring more units. However, at the moment only 3 are in operation; the other 6 are being serviced.

Her husband and children support her with the business, which she considers to be sufficiently profitable, given the economic benefits the family gets from it.

Before setting up her own business, she had economic difficulties as her partner’s income was not enough to cover the household bills. Now she can support him and aspire to a have a better quality of life.

With the earnings that she makes from her work, she hopes to save enough to buy a second motorbike taxi. She plans to rent it out and that way increase her income. This is loan number 5 for her with Kiva. She is grateful for the financial support, which enables her to advance her business. On this occasion she is requesting S/.500 Nuevos Soles, to buy bicycle parts.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Suzanne Carey

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details