A loan of $1,550 helped to buy wood.

Pilar's story

Pilar, who is 51 years old, is married and has two children, ages 25 and 12. She lives in her own house and now lives with only her grandson, who is her principal motivation to continue advancing. Pilar's work is buying and selling wood of various types. She sells wood to her customers on request or by coordinating with them. She mainly works with the species that are most requested, such as bolaína, cedar, capirona, and catahua, which are the best lumber species at a good price. She has been in this work for one year. She works with the support of her daughter and her son-in-law, who help her in placing the wood in other cities. She learned to do this work a little while ago, since in the past she sold chickens, but she decided to change to the forestry sector because she thought that she would receive better earnings in it. She likes her work, since it gives her time to do other activities in her home. Every day she is more convinced that the activity in which she is working is very good, since she has many regular customers who wait for her products. At this time she is applying for 4000 PEN, and she is very happy to know that she has financial support to continue increasing her working capital. She will invest the amount she has applied for in purchasing wood of different types that she will sell and send to other cities.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Pam McMurry

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details