A loan of $675 helped to buy fertilizer and compost for her vegetables.

Dilcia Angelica's story

Dilcia is a 24-year-old woman who is married and lives with her husband and three children. The oldest child is twelve, the second is seven, and the third child is six months old. The children depend on their parents, and the two older siblings help in the fields and in the household chores.

At a very early age she learned how to grow chili peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes and other crops. She was not able to continue her education past the second grade due to lack of resources on the part of her parents, since they are of very humble means and did not have the financial capacity to support her.

Farming is the sole activity that sustains her family. Every day they work hard to cover the basic necessities such as food, clothing and medicine. The land that they cultivate is one kilometer from their house, so they go on foot daily to take care of their crops and ensure that they are not contaminated or damaged by the various animals and diseases found in the area.

Currently she is seeking support in order to buy fertilizer and compost for her crops. Her dream is to be able to expand her fields and her harvests in order to increase her family's income. In this way she will be able to provide her children with a better education and a better quality of life so that they will be able to get good jobs.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Kevin Bohnert

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details