Funded

Total loan: $600
Powered by 22 lenders

Carla

Peru
PUCALLPA, Peru / Clothing Sales

A loan of $600 helped to purchase items of clothing.


Carla's story

Carla is 22 years old, single, and does not have children. She is a kind and hardworking woman. She lives in her parent's house together with her sister. Together they try every day to improve their quality of life.

Carla works selling clothing from different brands in different sizes, colors, and models for women, men, and children. She personally purchases all the clothing at wholesale and selecting them one by one, while always thinking about what her customers would like most. She works with the help of her mother and has been doing this work for three years. She works from her home or visits some customers at home. She has succeeded in having a fixed list of customers among her friends and family. She sometimes sells on credit and other times in cash and receives a good income that help her maintain her financial solvency. She likes what she does very much because she has the freedom to manage her time and organize herself according to the availability of her customers. At the beginning, she had some insecurities, as does everyone who recently opened a business, but with time, she overcame them and now is a great income generator for her household. She hopes that she can open a clothing store to continue contributing to her family's progress.

She is requesting a loan of 1500 soles to purchase a large quantity of clothing items such as polo shirts, blouses, and pants in order to continue offering quality clothing items to her customers.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Eileen Lloyd


Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: February 11, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: February 11, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma