Funded

Total loan: $400
Powered by 12 lenders

Diana

Peru
PUCALLPA, Peru / Fishing

A loan of $400 helped to buy fish.


Diana's story

Diana is 35 years old. She is married and has 3 children, with whom she lives in a home she owns. Diana's work is selling fish, and for this she has set up a sales stall in the fishing port. She gets up very early to buy her products wholesale to later sell them retail to the area residents. To do this, she selects the species that are most in demand by her customers, such as boquichico, mullet, and sardine. She also stocks up on those that aren't so much in popular demand but that have a good price in the market, such as doncella and paiche, always respecting the closed seasons. she has been doing this job for approximately 5 years and she says that with this activity she has been able to feed and raise her children. Now she is working alone and she continues to do so, as it is the only way she has to generate income for her home. What she likes about her job is that she has time to be with her family in the afternoon. she also thinks that working at her age isn't like when she was younger. She has also always been independent and accustomed to doing things on her own. At this time, she is asking for S./ 1000 soles. She is very grateful for this lending opportunity being offered as a financial support she needs to get ahead. She is committed to making her monthly payments on time and to continuing to work responsibly as she has done so far. With the amount she has asked for, she will buy a larger quantity of fish such as boquichico, mullet, and maparate, since these are high in demand in the market.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue


Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: January 24, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: January 24, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma