A loan of $1,175 helped to buy a carpentry machine.

Orlandine's story

Orlandine is 30 years old, lives with his wife and little 5 year old daughter for whom he works hard every day to give her a good, happy life. His home is found in Imperial, a city that is characterized by its warm, welcoming climate as well as the development of specialized agriculture in cotton, corn, bananas, and other things. Previously Orlandine lived in a district far away from Imperial, but rains destroyed his house, and he had to move to the city of Imperial as he was left with nothing. A close family member helped provide him and his family with a place to live.

For ten years, Orlandine has worked as a carpenter. He works about 10 hours per day, and he can help up to seven customers a day. He believes that he is successful in his business in spite of adversity because he pushes forward and has a lot of faith in God.

Orlandine is very thankful for Kiva loans as this is the second time that they will have provided him with much-needed support, and now he will be able to buy a carpentry machine that he will use to shape and to give a nice finish to the wood. He will now have the appropriate tools and a better place to complete his work. This will allow him to increase his income and to continue to work and to fight to realize his biggest dream- "To give his daughter the chance to have a good profession and to be able to grow his business."

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Carrie Straub

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details