A loan of $1,175 helped to buy manure and fertilizer.

Erika Soledad's story

Erika is 61 years old and lives with her husband, who is her right-hand man and her greatest support in everything she does. They have two children together, ages 3 and 8, who are their greatest motivation to continue working hard despite their adversities in life. Their home is located in the lovely city of Ocoña. Agriculture is a particularly important industry in Ocoña, especially the cultivation of rice, beans, and corn, among others. Fishing is also an important industry.

When she has some free time, Erika likes to take walks along the beach, because she loves to distract herself. She also likes to eat one of her favorite dishes, the delicious "Seco de Pollo" (chicken stew). Due to her limited financial resources, she was only able to study until the fifth grade of secondary school, but she would have very much liked to have a university degree.

Day to day, Erika works with plenty of effort and enthusiasm as a farmer. She has a small plot of land where she has planted rice. She works for about 10 hours per day in her business because her plot is located a bit far away from her home, and above all because she always has to pay close attention to her crops. She believes that her work is going well because she is very responsible and thorough, and above all because she likes her work.

Erika is very grateful and happy for the help which the Kiva lenders are offering her, because thanks to their help she will able to buy manure and fertilizer to avoid infestations in her crops and obtain better growth and a better harvest. This will allow her to continue working and fighting to make her greatest dream come true: "to improve her home".

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Amy Volz

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details