A loan of $325 helped to buy chickens to raise plus the necessary supplies, including chicken feed.


Isabel's story

Isabel, 27 years old, is a good, amiable, and hard-working woman. She is divorced and has 2 children, ages 10 and 3. They live together in her house. Isabel's work consists in selling meals on weekends. On Saturdays and Sundays, she heads out along the path to prepare her grille, seasons her chicken, and begins to grille it, awaiting her customers. Then, Monday through Friday, she works at a soda fountain. She has kept up this rhythm of work for more than 5 years, having added the grilled chicken sales some months ago. At the outset, this proved a little complicated for Isabel, but with the passage of time, she came to master the rhythm and, now, she has no fear of going out to sell.

Isabel enjoys her work very much. She has time for her children and, besides, has a good income, since, as noted, she has 2 activities, thus doubling her income. Isabel has lots of plans in mind; she would like to have her own business, but for now, she just wishes to install a soda fountain and thus, no longer depend on anyone else to generate her income. For the moment, she has decided to raise chickens, so she won't have to buy them somewhere else. This would be more convenient. That's why Isabel is soliciting her 1st loan through MFP, and she hope the collaboration will continue in the future as she works towards her objectives.

With the borrowed 800 sols, Isabel will purchase chicks to raise in her house, plus buy the necessary feed and other inputs, enabling her to continue raising chickens.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Harold Dana Sims, PhD


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details