A loan of $1,000 helped to buy spare parts for her motorcycle taxi.

Yelena's story

Yelena is 40 years old. She is a very happy, friendly and reponsible woman who lives with her partner with whom she has a child aged 6. They live in their own house and they try to give their son the best, a good quality of life and education. Yelena's work consists of selling frozen fizzy drinks of different flavours and various brands of beer. She also has a motorcycle taxi which she rents out for a fee per hire and which brings in an extra income to her household. She also has a small farm where she works with her partner. She has been carrying out these activities for the last two years and she has the support of her partner.
What she likes about her job is that she works alongside her son, who she can look after and help with his homework in her spare time. Her house is located in a strategic position and that is why she has clients every day and all the time, which gives her good sales and good earnings. She hopes to be able to keep her business going as she feels comfortable with what she has. This will be her tenth loan with MFP, and this is why she is requesting its collaboration so that she can confirm her plans. She is very happy to know that she will have financial support so that she can continue to increase her working capital, and she is convinced that she will continue to be the good and responsible partner of the previous loans. She likes belonging to the communal bank with which she works as they are all responsible and very helpful towards each other.
With the 2500 soles she is requesting she will buy spare parts for her motorcycle taxi. She will also pay the mechanic who repairs it and she will buy more drinks in different flavours to have more variety in her stock.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Eleanor Staniforth

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details