Funded

Total loan: $1,400
Powered by 52 lenders

María Del Transito


A loan of $1,400 helped to buy milk cows.


María Del Transito's story

María is 24 years old, lives with her partner, and has two children; one is 6 and the other 3. She has been a dressmaker for six years, an occupation she learned through the necessity of bringing income to her family. Her husband works in agriculture. Together they look for a way to support their household. She has signed a contract to make 250 uniforms for a public school in the country.

She travels to the city to buy the supplies for her sewing, such as zippers, thread, elastic, and other things she needs for the uniforms and for other jobs that she does for private customers. She must travel 38 km to get to the city.

She gets up at 4:00am to prepare breakfast for her husband and her children, begins sewing at 7:00am, and goes until 11:00 am, when she prepares lunch. Then she works some three hours more in the afternoon. At night she takes care of the household chores and helps her children with their homework.

The loan she is applying to Fundación Campo for is to buy two milk cows, in order to have milk and milk byproducts for the family diet and to sell to other people. The idea is to gradually buy more animals, so that she can have another source of income, and so that daily food will not be lacking in their home. This way her children will grow up strong and healthy.

Her wish is to build her own house; she already has the land, and only needs the house. She wants to provide health, education, and a good diet to her children, and also wants to buy a more modern sewing machine.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jeff Goldie



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: January 10, 2013

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: January 10, 2013