A loan of $800 helped to buy grains for growing, as well as buy drink and other products to sell from his house.


Pepe's story

Pepe, 71 years old, is a man who is always working and looking after his responsibilities. He lives with his partner Elza, with whom he has 4 children who are now older, independent and live with their own families. He lives in his own house with his partner and three grandchildren that they take care of.

Pepe has a job that consists of growing regional products. He works and cares for his small farm where he has diverse regional products, but what he works on most is his field of "charapita" peppers, a type of regional pepper. He has these peppers in a special garden within his small farm. Additionally, he has a small gas station in his home that his wife looks after, selling chicken, ice and cold drinks.

He enjoys his work a lot because he has time to be able to do all of his business and be able to also be with his grandchildren. He has good clients that he attends to very cordially, and they wait each week to buy his diverse and fresh products. He would like to be able to maintain the rhythm of his business because he has a good income and it covers the diverse expenses of his home.

This will be loan number 18 with MFP. For it he asks for your collaboration so he can settle on his plans. He is very committed to once again paying his quotas on time and in a responsible way. He is very comfortable with his communal bank since the other group members are very responsible and always show each other support. With the requested amount of 2000 soles, he will buy grains to grow, as well as products to sell from his home like drinks, etc.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Kerry George


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details