A loan of $400 helped to invest in buying ingredients to prepare the food she sells in her business.


Olinda's story

Toribia is 52 years old and is separated from the father of her two children. The oldest of these is already independent, and Toribia lives with her youngest child, aged 17, and her mother, who is very old. They live in their own home in the city.

Toribia is a special woman, starting work at 4 o'clock in the morning. She works very hard in her main job, selling food in her restaurant. She has been doing this for over a year, and believes it is profitable. "I prepare breakfasts and lunches, and throughout this time I've met customers who have become my friends", she says.

Her routine is exhausting. Every day she has to begin work in the early morning preparing breakfast, and after serving customers she has to prepare lunch. In the afternoon she has to do the cleaning and go to the market to buy ingredients for the following day.

This year, she saw that her customers had become loyal to her, and this is why she continues in this work. She needs your support to buy more goods so she can offer diners a better service.

This is her second loan with MFP. She is grateful for the continued trust placed in her. She says that she will make her monthly loan repayments on time. She will invest the money in buying ingredients to prepare the food she sells in her business.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Chloe Pilpel


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details