A loan of $800 helped to buy clothing, sneakers, and sandals to continue selling.


Doli's story

Doli, who is 52, is a good, kind, and very hard-working woman. She lives with Aurelio, who is 61, and with whom she has six children, to whom she offered education and raised with good manners and values. She lives in her own house, which she was able to construct 9 years ago with the help of her partner. Now she lives there with only one daughter and three grandchildren. She makes her greatest effort to advance for the good of her grandchildren and so that she can have a tranquil old age in the future.

Doli's work consists of selling clothing, sandals, sneakers, and other accessories for daily use. All her merchandise is sent by her daughter in big packages from another city. When she receives her order, she selects the articles that she will sell. Every day she goes out through the streets of the city seeking customers. She takes all her merchandise with her to offer it from house to house. Her sales method is cash or credit, and she collects payments daily, weekly, or every two weeks. On the other hand, when she doesn't manage to sell everything in the city, she travels to the population centers near the shores of the river. There she manages to sell everything and return to her house very happy, approximately 10 days after having left the city. She began this work two years ago, and sometimes she gets help from her son, who has a vehicle and helps her transport her merchandise. She feels very satisfied for the good that she is doing at this new stage.

She is happy to have this work because it gives her a lot of time during the hours when she is not working, since she can do her housework with great ease. In addition, she has learned to earn the respect and confidence of her customers, based on her good treatment [of them] and her great smile. She has good sales, and as a result of this she obtains good earnings. Now she hopes to continue growing and in the future acquire a sales stand to continue with her work. This is her tenth loan from MFP, for which she is grateful to those who make possible her financing to continue with her goals. On the other hand, she is very committed once again to making her payments punctually, as she did for her previous loans. She is very happy to belong to her communal bank, since all its members are very good, kind, and united. She will invest the amount she has applied for (2000 PEN) in the purchase of merchandise consisting of clothing, sneakers, and sandals to continue selling.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Pam McMurry


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details