A loan of $800 helped to stock his store.

Eliu's story

Eliu is 52 years old and a hardworking and friendly man. He lives in a home of his own with his wife, 45 year old Nancy, and his lovely 18 year old daughter, to whom he wants to provide a brighter future. Besides his daughter, he also has two adult sons already on their own, whom he taught like a good father, and he worked to provide the best for them. Eliu’s work consists of making sure that the streets of the city of Pucallpa are safer. Being a watchman has made him well liked by his neighbors, because they know the dangers to which he is exposed at night, and the courage he has for facing them. Although things are going well for him in this job, his salary is not enough to provide his family with a dignified life, so a few months ago he started a grocery store, which his wife manages and with which he was able to increase his income in part. Since he began his business, he has had many difficulties, such as not knowing how to manage it, but over time he gained experience and has been improving each day.

He is happy in his job, since it’s very satisfying to know that thanks to his job, people can sleep soundly. He has been doing this for four years and he considers the most difficult thing is having to stay up all night, given the things that happen in the city. This will be his 8th loan through MFP and he is very happy for the financial support that will allow him to increase his working capital. He knows that he needs to be very responsible and above all on time with his payments. He is glad to be part of his communal bank because the members are united and on time with their payments.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Hugo Reyes

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details