A loan of $250 helped to buy staple products to stock her store.

Julia's story

Julia, age 43, is a hard-working, dedicated and determined woman with a great desire to get ahead in life. She is separated from her common-law husband. She has two children, aged 13 and 1, who live comfortably in their mother's house. Julia's work is selling general groceries, such as rice, sugar, flour, and other items. She does her work in a shop which is inside her own house. She comments that she started this work because she had seen the experience of friends who had the same kind of business. Seeing that it was very profitable for them, she decided to invest in this activity and put everything she has into making it a success. Her older son helps her in his free time by serving customers, who become more numerous every day. She likes this business because it seems comfortable, and without too much effort she can generate income to cover her daily expenses. It also lets her have free hours to dedicate to other activities. Equally, it lets her be at home where she can watch and take care of her minor children. With good management of her earnings, hard work and patience, she wants to make her business grow. Accordingly, this will be her first loan with the MFP institution. She hopes for support to continue toward her goals. In addition, she enjoys being in her communal bank, since she has observed that it is a united and cooperative group which has been able to provide a lot of support for its members.

With the amount requested, 600 new soles, she plans to invest in her new business, buying groceries at a more economical price so that she can have a better income.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Patricia Linderman

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details