A loan of $775 helped to buy the vehicle that he rents.


Saul's story

At 23 years of age, Saul shares his conjugal life with Brigida, 24 years old. They both have their small Yerson, who is 4 years old. For now, they live in a rented home constructed of wood. Being a person with a lot of dedication in life, he makes a living providing taxi service.

He has worked as such for two years with a vehicle he rents daily, traveling the diverse arteries of his town and making many friends in turn. He considers his job very pleasant since it is closer to his family and he can use his vehicle to take and bring his young one to and from the kindergarten. Nevertheless, there are days in which there is no influx of customers and days that he considers lost.

Working now for a considerable time as a driver, he has received the offer from the owner of the vehicle to sell it at a good price. Motivated by the offer he saw the necessity of finding money to make that opportunity possible.

His long-term objectives aim at beginning with his partner a business selling clothes and footwear, providing him with a job opportunity less rushed for her and for the future of their young one. This is his third loan. He promises from now on to punctually complete the payments of his loan to form a good credit history and be eligible for a larger loan in the future. With the 2,000 Nuevos Soles, it will be possible for him to own the vehicle that he now drives to therefore obtain in the future the net profits with his work.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Sarah Tyler


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details