A loan of $1,500 helped to buy a natural gas operating system for her vehicle.

Maria's story

María is 44 years old, she is married with Gregorio and they have 3 children: 1 of their daughters is economically independent, while their youngest son is attending university. Unfortunately, María and her husband are apart from each other because Gregorio is currently living and working in Argentina: he has had to emigrate to another country for economic reasons. They are not a wealthy family and up to 3 years ago they did not have a place to live; they were living in two rented rooms and the were not very comfortable, but thanks to Gregorio and María’s work they have succeeded in buying some land on which they have been building a house little by little. María is a cook in a public hospital, and on top of this they have a minibus with which they provide passenger services. This second activity represents an extra income as María wage is very low. For this reason, the loan she is requesting will be used to change the operating system of her vehicle from gasoline to natural gas in order to save some money, as using gasoline is not economically good for her. Two of María’s most important dreams and goals are that her husband comes back from Argentina as soon as possible, so that they can be together again, and that her son finishes his professional studies.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Emanuela Villa

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details