Funded

Total loan: $775
Powered by 28 lenders

Elias

Peru
Chanchamayo, Peru / Carpentry

A loan of $775 helped to buy wood from the "Diablo Fuerte" brand which he needs to perform his work.


Elias's story

Elías is 20 years old, single, and has a two year old son. He lives with his mother in a rented house in the district of the central jungle. Elías is an enterprising young man. Since he was twelve he has worked beside his uncles who learned carpentry, an activity which is their highest source of income today. Their principal products are kitchen utensils like soup ladles, spoons, tablets, and napkin containers. Additionally, he receives requests from other towns in Peru for decorative products. He mentions, "In two years I have learned how the work is, and it's going well for me because I have clients who I know well."

His mother supports him in his activities. Every month she distributes his money in a certain way that lets him manage to acquire wood and other necessary tools for his activities.

He mentions his son, who he sees very little and is one of his inspirations to keep working.

He needs help to acquire wood because he already has a big order for the city of Huancayo, so he doesn't want to neglect it. This is his second loan with MFP. He feels happy with their support he has gained at the communal bank "Rosas y Claveles" ("Roses and Carnations"). He mentions that he will pay the quotas punctually. With this money he will be able to buy wood from the "diablo fuerte" brand, which he needs to perform his work.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jennifer Gilbert


Loan details

Loan length:

10 months
Disbursed date: November 20, 2012
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

10 months
Disbursed date: November 20, 2012
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma