A loan of $575 helped to buy toys, necklaces, and bracelets.

Ana's story

Ana, 37, is a good and pleasant woman. She's the mother of three children. The oldest lives with his father, while the two younger ones live with her because they're the children of her current partner. She lives in her mother's house with her two children, her mother, and her siblings. She works very hard to be able to give her children a better quality of life.

Ana's job is selling toys, necklaces, earrings, bracelets, and other accessories, especially for girls. She goes out every day in search of customers to offer her good and new products. She has been doing this work for more than three years. She does it alone and, although now she's very well prepared to do her job, she says that when she began she had a lot of problems, such as not having a strategy for finding customers. Now she's very good at what she does and she improves more and more every day. She considers her business very profitable because it gives her good earnings.

She likes her job because it gives her free time to use as she likes. Also, she has very good earnings, an average of 50% of her investment. She hopes to set up a store in the future, but for now what she most wants is to increase her capital and her investment in her business.

This will be her fourth loan with MFP. She's very excited to know that she'll have financial support to be able to continue with her investment. With the requested amount of 1500 soles [PEN] she'll buy merchandise such as toys, necklaces, bracelets, and other accessories to sell. She'll also look for low prices for her wholesale purchases to get a greater profit margin.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Catharine Wall

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details