A loan of $1,000 helped para el pago del arrendamiento de las tierras que cultiva paga $125.00 por 7,000 metros cuadrados y alquila 28,000 metros cuadrados aproximadamente.


Wilfredo's story

Wilfredo, 44, has three children but only his 14-year-old daughter who is in the 8th grade in a local public school is living with him. He’s been separated from his wife for six years which is why his children are in his care. He works in agriculture, a family tradition, growing corn, yams and manioc. He usually gets good harvests since the fields he cultivates are very fertile because they are in the vicinity of the Chaparrastique volcano. In addition, he owns a team of oxen he uses to do his field chores and also offers their services to other farmers in the area. He gets all his farm supplies in the city located 7 kilometers from his house. In order to transport them he partners with others because they must contract a private vehicle since there is no public transportation available in this community.

The loan will be used to pay rental fees for the land he cultivates. He pays $125 for every 7,000 square meters and he leases a total of 28,000 square meters approximately that are used as grazing land for his oxen and for his two cows and also to grow his crops on. With the remaining capital, he will plant 10,000 square meters of corn, 3,500 square meters of manioc and 3,062 square meters of yams.

With this investment he will guarantee the land for cultivation and for grazing. His wish is to expand his planting area and start growing vegetables that he feels are more profitable but that require a larger investment. He’d also like to build a concrete block house and that at least his youngest daughter studies in some local technological center.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Polliz



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details