A loan of $200 helped to cover the costs of renting a storefront.


Landy's story

Landy is a 23 years old woman who lives in the city of Pucallpa with her two small children, who she loves and considers to be her primary reason for living. She is a very friendly, hardworking, and enthusiastic person who dedicates herself fully to helping her family to get ahead in life, especially since she acts as both father and mother to her children, sadly. Landy was not able to study at the university level, but she would have really liked to study the law. In her free time, she likes to go walking with her children through the warm and narrow streets of her city, and sometimes she cooks a dish of delicious Tacacho (chopped and roasted plantains) with cold chicken, which is a favorite meal in her family.

By her own initiative, and with a great deal of effort and dedication, Landy works at a small business that sells fish, every day she starts work very early in the morning, and she works on foot. She works up to about 6 hours each day, and she thinks it is going well because of the kind attention that she gives to her customers.

Landy is very thankful for the lenders at Kiva, since it is thanks to their help that she will be able to cover the costs of renting a small market stall in one of the marketplaces in her city. In this way, Landy hopes to improve her business and increase her sales. Therefore, she will be able to continue working and striving to meet her goals and achieve her dream of having a house of her own.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Elizabeth Mount



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details