A loan of $775 helped to carry out general maintenance on his vehicle.


Roy Carly's story

Roy is a 29-year-old man who lives in the city of Pisco with his partner. He is a very friendly, hardworking, and enthusiastic man who has a great desire to get ahead. Unfortunately, Roy was not able to study for a professional career as a mechanic like he wanted to. SInce he was very young he had to work to support his parents. In his free time he likes to play sports and sometimes he cooks a delicious chicken Cau Cau [a potato stew] to share with his family.

With a lot of effort and dedication, and thanks to the support of his mother, Roy works offering transportation services. He has a small van that he uses to transport his passengers to a variety of destinations in his city. He can work approximately ten hours a day and he believes that it is going well because he is very responsible and he treats his customers well.

Roy is very grateful to the Kiva lenders because, thanks to the help they offer, he will be able to carry out general maintenance on his vehicle. He hopes to he able to do reinforcements and paint the base of his van. This way, Roy will get this van into a better condition so he can continue to offer his services. He hopes to continue working and make an effort to be able to achieve his dream, little by little, of having his own home and a business selling food which he would run together with his partner.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Monica Wooters



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details