A loan of $1,175 helped to buy a variety of garments.


Mitzy's story

Mitzy, 27, is an enterprising and very hardworking woman. She's married to Carlos, who's an employee and the father of her only child, Fabrizzio, age 3. She lives with her husband and her young son, whom she loves a lot, in her own house, which they managed to buy with a lot of effort.

Mitzy's work is selling women's clothing and accessories in a boutique she opened in a space she set up in her house (so she saves on rent), where she very pleasantly waits on all her customers. She has done this work for more than three years and up to the present she works alone. She likes her work and being able to have an income to help her husband with the household expenses. Sometimes his salary as an employee of a private business isn't enough. She also likes to be able to have free time to take care of her young son.

She's comfortable doing what she likes, and she feels like a small business entrepreneur. She considers it profitable because she has managed to attract regular customers and have regular demand, which gives her permanent income. She plans to open another business, selling grilled food with her mother on Saturday and Sunday.

This will be her sixth loan with MFP. She's happy to be able to have the institution's help. She wants to be able to continue having this support. She'll continue being punctual with her payments so she'll have access to more loans.

With the requested loan of 3000 nuevos soles [PEN] she'll use half to buy various styles of clothing in the capital and the other half as working capital for her new grilled food business.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Catharine Wall


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details