A loan of $1,175 helped to purchase a small car.

Jose Luis's story

José is 35 years old and lives in the city of Camaná with his partner and his small four-year-old son. He is a very friendly, hard-working and enthusiastic person, who together with his partner does his very best to help his family get ahead in life.

Unfortunately José was not able to study for a professional career, as from a very young age he had to work to help his parents. But he would have very much liked to have done so. In his free time, he likes to play football with his friends and neighbors, and sometimes takes advantage of the chance to eat a very delicious "chupe de camarones" (Peruvian shrimp chowder), a traditional dish of his city.

On his own initiative, and with a great deal of effort and determination, José has worked for several years providing transportation services. He has a small taxi which he uses as his means of work. Every day, from a very early hour of the morning, José goes out to travel the streets of his city in search of passengers.

He can work around 12 hours a day, and believes it is going well because he knows the areas where he can find the greatest number of customers.

José is very grateful to the Kiva lenders, as thanks to the help offered he will be able to purchase a small car, which he will use to continue offering transportation services. In this way, José will continue working and doing his best, so that he and his family can better themselves, and so that he can achieve his dream of seeing his sons become good professionals.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jeff Goldie

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details