A loan of $400 helped to improve his house.

Freddy's story

Freddy is a 24-year-old man, is single, and lives in the city of Camaná. He is a very happy, hardworking and enthusiastic person, who has a great desire for improvement. Unfortunately, due to a lack of financial resources and the need to work to support his parents, Freddy was not able to study a professional career, but he would really have liked to be able to do so. In his spare time he likes to walk by the banks of a river near his house, and on some occasions cooks a delicious Lomo Saltado [a traditional stir-friend beef dish] to share with his family.

Thanks to the support of his parents, with much determination and dedication, Freddy works offering transportation services. He has a motorcycle taxi which he drives. Everyday from the early hours of the morning he goes out to travel around the streets of his city looking for passengers. He can work approximately 12 hours daily, and believes that his business is doing well because he knows the areas in which to find a larger number of customers.

Freddy is very grateful for the Kiva loans, as thanks to the help offered he will be able to improve his house. He wants to be able to do the cementing, painting and placing of the flooring in his home, and in this way his home will be in better, more adequate and safer conditions. In this way he will continue working and making an effort so that he can get ahead together with his family.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer S Mason

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details