A loan of $600 helped to refurbish his motortaxi and purchase cases of beer and soft drinks.

Carlos's story

Carlos is 36 years old and is a very hardworking and responsible man. He is married and has two children, ages 7 and 2. He lives in his own home with his wife and her mother. He dedicates himself to his work so he can feed and educate his children, not to mention that he wants to give his whole family a better quality of life. Carlos' work consists of transporting passengers within the city. He gets up very early to go out in search of would-be customers who want to go from one place to another in the city. He has done this job for more than 10 years, and it has given him the opportunity to grow little by little along with his family, but he has bigger dreams for the future. In addition to this work, he also sells alcoholic beverages, soft drinks and gelatins from his home. In the same vein, he built rooms on some space on his land that he can rent by the month at very good prices. What he likes most about his job is that he can take his children to school, transport his family and carry out other work responsibilities. He hopes that his businesses progress even more in the future, since he wants to develop another one raising chickens, although he needs to save a bit more money first. This will be his first loan with Kiva partner MFP, and he is grateful for those who made this possible so he can continue toward achieving his goals. He also promises to make his payments on time. He enjoys being part of his community bank because all of the members are responsible people who stand by each other. With the loan, he plans to purchase some cases of beer and soft drinks, and use the remainder to refurbish some parts in his motortaxi and to renovate some of the windows in the rooms he rents.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Marty Greenstein

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details