A loan of $1,000 helped to make a gate.


Reina Isabel's story

Reina is 53 years old. She is married and has two children. For 8 years she has sold pupusas and panes. Before she worked as a housemaid. She separated from her husband and started to work doing something else to generate income to support her children and spend more time with them since the girls were entering into adolesence and they needed her guidance. That's why she planned on working for her self, and had the idea of selling pupusas and bread, since in front of her house there was a soccer field, and her daughters could help her out.

To buy the merchandise she has to walk for twenty-five minutes to get to where she takes the bus, because there is no transportation where she lives. On Fridays she buys all of the ingredients she needs. Once she's made her purchases, she pays for a taxi to take them back, which costs around $10 every Friday.

The loan she is asking for is to make a gate. since she has problems with some animals that are wandering the streets and get into her yard. They eat the clothes she has washed and left outside. Also, some dogs get into the kitchen and spill her food. She can't stand this problem anymore and is asking for a loan to make a gate. What she wants the most is to have a home that is worthy of her and her family, very different from the one she lived in as a child. She is from a humble family of fighters. She is thankful to the Foundation for the help it has given to its clients.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details