A loan of $775 helped to maintain, fertilize and irrigate his crops.

Jose's story

José is a 57-year-old man. He lives in the city of Pucallpa with his wife and their 4 children, whom he loves and who are his main reason for living. He is a very friendly, hard-working and enthusiastic person who has a great desire to help his family get ahead. José has worked since he was very young, helping his parents. For this reason he unfortunately was not able to finish primary school, and he was not able to pursue a professional degree in Agricultural Engineering as he wanted to, although he really would have liked to do so. In his free time, he likes to spend time in the countryside, and sometimes his wife spoils him by cooking him his favorite food, such as the delicious Seco de Res [stewed beef].

With great dedication and enthusiasm, and thanks to what he learned from his parents, José works in agriculture. He has a small plot of land where he plants camu camu, which is a typical fruit of his city. In addition, he also has small plantings of watermelon, yuca and corn. Every day he starts his work at an early hour. He can work approximately 12 hours a day, and he believes that it is going well for him because of his dedication and the friendly treatment he provides to his customers.

José is very grateful to the Kiva lenders, since thanks to the help provided to him he will be able to maintain, fertilize and irrigate his crops. In this way, José will be able to ensure that his crops develop in a satisfactory way and that they are in optimal condition for harvest and sale. Thus he hopes to obtain a higher income, which will help him very much so that in the near future, he will be able to expand his business and improve his family's quality of life.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Patricia Linderman

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details