A loan of $775 helped to refurbish and maintain his car.

Avel Remberto's story

Avel is a 42-year-old man. He lives in the city of Nazca with his wife and child, age 3, whom he loves and who are his main purpose in life. He's a very pleasant, hardworking, and enthusiastic person.

He and his wife put all their effort into getting the family ahead. Unfortunately, because of the need to work from a young age to help his parents and cover his expenses, he wasn't able to study agronomy, which he very much would have enjoyed being able to do. In his free time he likes to relax listening to music, and sometimes he cooks a delicious Ají de Gallina [chicken with garlic] to share with his family.

With a lot of effort and enthusiasm, and thanks to the support of his brother, Avel works daily as a taxi driver. He has a small car in which every morning he goes out early to drive around the different streets of his city to look for customers. Avel also works in agriculture. He can work approximately 12 hours a day, and he believes it's going well for him because of his dedication and the friendly way he treats his customers.

Avel is very grateful to the Kiva lenders because thanks to their help he'll be able to refurbish and maintain his car. He wants to be able to change the shock absorbers and tires on his taxi.

This way Avel's car will be in better condition and he'll be able to continue working to give his customers better service. With this he hopes to be able to increase his income, which will serve him well to be able to acquire another car and expand his business in the near future. He hopes to be able to realize his big dream of seeing his young child become a good professional and a good man.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Catharine Wall

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details