A loan of $1,500 helped to purchase clothing.

Mayra Katherine's story

The September 7th Communal Bank meets every fifteen days in the city of Manta, a city known for its beautiful beaches that are frequently visited during all seasons and for being a city of unparalleled beauty with many tourist attractions.

In this place lives Mayra, who is 20 years old and single. She is studying at the university and lives at home with her parents.

She is a very hard-working young woman, who works selling all types of clothing in order to have her own resources, which allow her to continue studying. She makes her sales door to door, working three or four days a week for about three hours each day. The majority of her sales come from orders that her customers place in advance. She offers her products on credit and collects her payments every eight days. She purchases the clothing in Guayaquil since she can get it less expensive and there is more variety. She has worked for three years doing this and it is going well.

She is requesting another loan with the organization. The other loan that she received was a great help to her since with the earnings that she obtained she could pay her tuition and begin her studies at the university. She would like a new loan to be able to invest in her business and thus, acquire more income to be able to achieve her goal of becoming a great professional. This loan is to purchase all types of clothing. She has had three loan cycles in the communal bank and she enjoys it because the loans are very important in moving ahead.

Her dreams are to finish her studies and be a great professional.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Kathryn Luehm

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details