A loan of $425 helped to buy basic grains, dairy products and other consumable products.


Rosa Fidelina's story

Rosa lives in Granada. She is a 48 year old married merchant

She started this business when she was 37 years old. An opportunity presented itself with a friend who had a small store in her house and who was travelling to the United States with her husband. She asked her to take care of the house so Rosa and her husband decided to keep the store going. Her son helps her serve the customers when he gets home from school and her husband helps her financially with his job. Rosa sells from the house where she lives now, although she would like to open a store in her own house, so if her friend returns from the U.S. she will have her own established business.

The expectations she has for her business are opening another store in her own house and then having two businesses. One in the house she takes care of and one in her own house. Her husband and her son would help her manage them.

Rosa has asked for a Kiva loan to buy more products for the store, such as: basic grains, dairy products and other consumable goods, in order to generate more income. Her plans for the future are establishing her two businesses and in this way meeting her goals. One of them is for her son to graduate from the university and the other is for her husband to be the main person running the other store so he can safely leave the job he has now.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details