A loan of $575 helped to purchase a stove, pots and kitchen things.

Jose Luis's story

Jose is 52, and lives in Imperial, a city known for having a warm and inviting climate. Agriculture is carried on, especally the growing of cotton, corn and other crops. As well, beautiful beaches are found there, and above all, the inhabitants are very friendly.

Jose is a single father. Due to problems that had nothing to do with him, his wife left him, and he had to raise his three children on his own. He has really struggled to give them a decent life, and above all, so that they will be better off that he is.

Jose previously worked in construction jobs, but due to the fact that they were not one right after the after, he didn't have sufficient income. With a great deal of effort, and thanks to a friend's help, he got work in a stable. Currently, he works in that stable feeding the animals that are raised there.

As well, he milks the cows for milk sales. He does cleaning and looks after the animals, and also supervises the measuring of what is obtained from the milking. He is very at ease with his work, and believes that it is going well because he is responsible and has the desire to succeed.

Jose is very grateful to the Kiva lenders, as with the support he has been offered, he will be able to buy a stove, pots and some necessary furniture for his home. Due to a small accident he was left without a home, and the stable owner has offered him a small room so that he can live there with his family. That way he will be able to have a better quality of life, continue working, succeed in life and be able to make his greatest dream a reality: To see that his children have good occupations, and to have his own house.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jeff Goldie

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details