A loan of $775 helped to buy healthy feed for his animals and make improvements on the corrals.


Flor De María's story

Flor de María is 25 years old, single, and has no children. She lives with her family in one of the neighborhoods that form the rural part of the agricultural district in Tambogrande, located in the region of Piura. This zone has only electricity.

The work she does is in small animal farming, specifically in caring for sheep and goats, which during the day she allows to run free so they can graze in fields on the outskirts of town, and in the nighttime she keeps them in the corral that is shown in the photograph. Once she has grown them, she sells them to businessmen in the area or to her neighbors. She has more than three years of experience working in this business, and she also works in a business processing fruits for export. She is a youth who is very dedicated to her family, and so the income she receives from her activities are used to help her parents, who she loves and admires greatly.

Flor de María is asking for a loan of 2,000 Soles which she thinks to invest in buying balanced feed to fatten her animals quickly, so that they can be sold more quickly, and also to make improvements to her corral. This investment will gain her a better income and she will continue helping her family to get ahead. Flor de María is thankful for the hand up from the people who have helped her with the money for this loan.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Elizabeth Mount


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details