A loan of $400 helped to purchase groceries and clothing to sell.

Kary's story

Kary is 46 years old. She is a hard-working woman with a great desire to get ahead. Edson is her partner. They have two children they love very much, Kary, who is twelve years old, and Linda, who is seven years old. They live together in a rented house.

She sells a variety of groceries. She stores her merchandise in a room in her house. She acquires her products in shopping centers in the city and then takes them to the riverside communities along the banks of the river. She makes periodic trips to accomplish her goal. She began working this way over two years ago because she needed to earn money. Currently, her partner helps her to purchase her merchandise, and her relatives who live in the riverside communities she visits help her to make sales. As a result of the good results she is having, she wishes to increase her business by selling clothing in addition to groceries.

This is her second loan with MFP [Microfinanzas Prisma], and she is grateful for its financial support in helping her to realize her plans. Additionally, she feels good about her communal bank since she knows the other members and considers them to be responsible and caring people.
She will invest the requested amount of 1000 PEN [$400] by purchasing groceries and clothing at wholesale prices. She will look for the lowest prices to obtain better earnings.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Tim O'Reilly

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details