Funded

Total loan: $1,150
Powered by 36 lenders

Doli

Peru
PUCALLPA, Peru / Clothing

A loan of $1,150 helped to buy closing and shoes to sell.


Doli's story

Doli is 51 years old and a good woman, friendly and hard working. Her partner is Aurelio, age 60, with whom she has six children; she gave her children an education and raised them with good manners and values. She lives in her home, which she was was able to build eight years ago with the help of her spouse; currently only one daughter and three nephews / nieces live with her.

Her business is selling clothing, shoes, and other personal accessories. All of her merchandise is sent by her daughter from another city. Every day she goes looking for customers in the streets of the city, taking with her all of her merchandise to offer from house to house. Her sales are cash or credit, and she collects payment daily, weekly, or biweekly. In any case, when she can't manage to sell everything in the city, she travels to the small communities located near the riverbanks; there she can sell everything, and she returns home very happy after about 10 days outside the city.

Doli started this business a year ago. Sometimes she gets help from her son, who has a vehicle and helps her transport merchandise. Previously she sold food, but after six years she decided to change jobs due to the excessive competition in that field. Currently she has very good sales, and as a result she earns a good income; she hopes to keep growing and get a stable retail location.

This is the ninth loan she's had with MFP, and she appreciates all who make it possible. Also she is very committed, once again, in making her monthly payments on time. And she is very happy to belong to a community bank, as all of its members are very good, friendly, and supportive.

The requested amount (3000 PEN) will be invested in the purchase of more merchandise (clothing, shoes, sandals) so that she can keep selling.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Sophie VH


Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: June 14, 2012
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: June 14, 2012
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma