A loan of $275 helped to buy grain and meat to sell.


Denis's story

Denis, 26, is a man who very much wants to get ahead; he’s very hardworking. He’s single and has no children yet. He lives in his parents’ house alongside his six siblings. Together with his entire family he seeks progress and to improve his economic situation in order to secure his future.

His work consists in selling grains (corn, rice and beans) as well as pork, chicken, beef, etc. He heads out very early every day to his city’s main port and picks out the producers and cattlemen. Denis buys at very affordable prices and sells to individuals or to stores in the city. He’s been in this line of work for five years and has not had any problems since he started because he does the work very calmly and with much dedication.

He also works occasionally as a mototaxi driver providing passenger transportation. He’s been in this business four years and does quite well too. In the future he hopes to have his own warehouse where he can sell much more than he does now.

This is his first MFP loan so he thanks those who make it possible. He’s very committed to make his payments punctually and responsibly. He’s happy to belong to his communal bank because all the members are good, kind and mutually supportive.

He will use the requested 700 soles to buy larger amounts of grains and meat to continue with his business.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Polliz


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details