A loan of $475 helped to buy food items, tables, chairs and utensils for her business.

Florinda's story

Florinda is 36 years old. She is a hardworking, enterprising, cordial and friendly woman. She is separated from her husband and has three children. She lives with two of the children, Mayra, age 17 and Naomi, age 12. They are the reason she wants to progress. She lives in her sister’s house, with her, her parents and her nephew.
She sells regional food such as juanes (based on rice and chicken), roasted fish, tamales and other items. She works in the evenings from Monday until Friday at the corner in front of her house where she sets up tables and chairs. She has a refrigerator where she keeps cold drinks that she sells. She has been doing this business for the past fifteen years with the friendly assistance of her mother and her daughters. Her business is profitable, with good earnings, as she sells all that she prepares each day. She likes to cook. She learned from her mother the secrets of good seasoning. It is hard to get up very early in order to begin preparing her food, but this doesn’t discourage her from doing her business.
This is her fifth loan with MFP. She is very comfortable with the community bank as she considers her fellow members to be very responsible. She is asking for 1200 new soles, which she will use to buy goods, drinks, tables, chairs, and utensils for the kitchen in order to renovate her business.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Esther Levandoski

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details