A loan of $750 helped to buy fertilizers and corn seeds for the next season.


Julia's story

Julia is 41 years old and lives with three of her four children, who she looks after in her parents house which is located in Chacas. She is a very timid woman by nature, and from very early on she has taken on the role of father and mother for her children. She began to sow corn and potatoes on her land, which she looks after with great dedication since they are her only source of income. Her main source of income comes from the dried corn she grows. It is good for toasting as a type of appetizer. There are very few famers who work using this process, and for this reason she has a good income.

She also has animals (pigs and chickens) which she looks after and uses for her own consumption. She likes living in the countryside very much, and for this reason she wants to increase her income so that she can sow in a greater quantity, since the money invested in seeding is greater.

She is part of the group “Sarita Colonia” and this is her sixth loan with MFP. Thanks to the opportunities they offer, she will be able to improve her business. For this reason she promises to be punctual with all her repayments. She likes working with the Association, where all the people are responsible and cooperative.

Julia is asking for the loan so that she can buy fertilizers and corn seeds for the next season.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer KAROLINA KOSZELSKI


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details