A loan of $1,275 helped to buy chicken, skewers, and ears of corn.

Maricela America's story

From Playas, we present Maricela. She is 38 years old and married to Benito, who is a worker at a company which processes tuna and tuna products. They have 3 children, 2 boys and a girl, who attend secondary school and business school. Maricela tells us that she started as a helper in a restaurant where she earned 8 dollars a day, but her hours were only in the morning. This was convenient for her since she could care for her children, since they were young and she had nobody she could leave them with. In the afternoon she would go to the corner of her house with a small roaster and sold chicken wings, skewers, and ears of corn, collecting about 30 dollars a day. Little by little her business has been growing. Now she has a restaurant where she sells snacks to the employees leaving the company. She no longer works in the other restaurant. Maricela tells us that she opens only from Monday to Friday because she doesn't sell much on the weekend without workers. Currently she has a helper who works with her from 4 in the afternoon until 10 at night, which is when she sells the most. This is Maricela's 4th loan and for D-Miro it is a proud example of success. We have faith in her success because together we have seen her advance, from the beginning with a simple stand outside of her house to the restaurant that we have now. She asks us for another loan to adapt the business and to have money for the business. D-Miro says: Maricela, good luck, and meet all of your proposed goals, we are here to support you.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Karen Monat

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details