A loan of $375 helped to buy furniture for her home.

Ericka Elizabeth's story

Ericka is 33 years old. She lives in the district of Santiago, which is known for its warm climate. Agriculture is a common activity there, especially the cultivation of cotton, corn, peppers, asparagus, and artichokes, among other crops. When Ericka has free time, she enjoys watching television, especially her favorite serial dramas, and above all, she likes to take advantage of opportunities to eat her favorite dishes, such as the delicious “Arroz con Pollo” [chicken with rice]. She was studying to become an executive secretary, but due to economic problems, she was not able to complete her degree.

With great enthusiasm, Ericka works as an operator at a gas station. She works about 10 hours each day. It is rather tiring work, since she usually has to be on her feet almost all day to serve the customers. She believes that her work is going well for her, because the customers she serves always come back happily, since she is very friendly and for this reason there are no complaints about her.

Ericka is very grateful to the Kiva lenders, since thanks to the help they have provided to her, she will be able to buy furniture for her home, since currently at her house people sit only on bricks covered with fabric, and they eat at an improvised table made of plywood. In this way she will be able to improve her quality of life, and thus keep working each day to make her greatest dream a reality: "to have her own house," since she currently lives in a rented house.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Patricia Linderman

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details